In the Hebrew Bible the books of Joshua, Judges, 1 and 2 Samuel, and 1 and 2 Kings are known as the Former Prophets and are all works influenced by the Deuteronomic editors. They have one consistent aim: to show that obedience to the terms of the covenant is rewarded and disobedience punished. The Latter Prophets are Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Twelve Minor Prophets, which were once contained in a single scroll; but not Daniel, which was assigned to the Writings. These great prophecies all belong to the period 750–350 BCE.